Jackery Explorer 2000 Plus Portable Power Station: capacity, output and what it will actually run

A 2,000 Wh station rated 3,000 W continuous, measured against the 33 home backup stations in this corpus — including the runtime those two figures imply, which the listing does not state.

Jackery 2000 Wh portable power station, manufacturer's product image

The manufacturer’s own product image, from the listing. Not a photograph of a unit anyone here has handled.

Check price on Amazon

Every figure below is read from the manufacturer’s own listing. We do not test power stations and nothing here has been charged, discharged or weighed by anyone on this site. Where the listing is silent, this page prints not stated rather than a plausible default, and the figures that no manufacturer publishes — runtime, energy per kilogram — are arithmetic on the ones that are published, shown with their working.

At a glance

What this listing publishes, plus the runtime its own two headline figures imply.
Specification Stated
Capacity 2,000 Wh
Continuous output 3,000 W
Runtime at full output (derived) 40 min
Cell chemistry LiFePO4
Weight 28.1 kg (62 lb)
Energy per kilogram (derived) 71 Wh/kg
Solar input accepted 200 W
Price band $800–1,500
Brand Jackery

What it will actually run, and for how long

The two numbers on the front of the box answer different questions. 3,000 W is the gate: anything drawing more than that will not run at all, whatever the battery holds. 2,000 Wh is the duration behind the gate. Divide the second by the first and this station runs 40 min at its full rated output — which is the honest way to compare it with another station, and not a number anybody’s usage will match.

Nobody runs a station at its ceiling, so the more useful arithmetic divides the same capacity into loads people own. On 2,000 Wh this one would run a laptop at 60 W for about 33 hours, and a domestic fridge at 150 W for about 13 hours. The fridge figure carries a caveat the laptop figure does not: a fridge cycles its compressor rather than drawing continuously, so the real duration is commonly two to three times the number above — and the specification that decides whether it will start the compressor at all is the surge rating, which this listing does not state.

The runtime figure is arithmetic, and it is optimistic. It is the published capacity divided by the published output, which is the best you could ever get. Real inverters are 85 to 90% efficient, so the usable figure is lower — and no listing on this site states its inverter efficiency, so we do not estimate it. Treat the number as a ceiling and a way to compare like with like, not as a promise.

How it compares with its own class

Against the 33 home backup stations in this corpus, rather than against a generic alternative:

This station against the median for home backup stations.
Measure This one Class median Where it sits
Capacity 2,000 Wh 3,600 Wh below the class median of 3600 Wh
Continuous output 3,000 W 3,600 W below the class median of 3600 W
Runtime at full output (derived) 40 min 51 min below the class median of 51 min
Weight 28.1 kg (62 lb) 35.0 kg (77 lb) below the class median of 35 kg
Energy per kilogram (derived) 71 Wh/kg 98 Wh/kg below the class median of 98 Wh/kg
Solar input accepted 200 W 400 W below the class median of 400 W

A station on the class median is not a worse buy than one above it. Capacity above the median is also weight above it and price above it, and the question that decides the purchase is whether the output clears what you intend to plug in — which is a property of your appliances, not of the median.

See this station on Amazon

Where it suits

  • Loads with a heating element — a kettle, a microwave, a coffee maker — which are the loads that most stations refuse outright.
  • Several days of low draw rather than a few hours of high draw — a reserve rather than a workhorse.
  • Regular cycling, since LiFePO4 is specified for several times the cycle life of lithium-ion.
  • Refilling away from mains, where 200 W of panel is accepted — panels sold separately, almost always.

Where it does not

  • A motor or a compressor where the start-up draw matters, because this listing does not state a surge rating at all.
  • Carrying any distance: 28.1 kg (62 lb) is a two-handed lift and it does not get lighter as it discharges.

What the listing claims

These are the manufacturer’s statements, not findings. Nothing on this page has been measured by anyone here, and a specification stated on a listing is a claim until the unit is in front of you.

It states capacity, continuous output, runtime at full output, cell chemistry, weight, energy per kilogram. It does not state a surge rating.

The gaps matter as much as the figures. A listing that omits a surge rating is not describing a station with a poor one, it is describing itself incompletely — and surge is the specification that decides whether a fridge starts, which is the single most common reason people buy one of these at all.

What no listing on this site tells you

Three things decide whether a power station earns its place, and none of them is a specification any manufacturer publishes. The first is your actual load, in watts, which is a property of your appliances rather than of the station. The figure on the back of an appliance is its maximum draw, not its usual one, and adding those maxima together produces a number far larger than anything you will really pull — but it is the right number for checking against the output rating, because the station has to survive the moment everything runs at once.

The second is how the station gets refilled. From a wall socket that is a matter of hours and of whether you will be somewhere with a wall socket. From solar it is a different calculation entirely: this one accepts 200 W, panels are almost always sold separately, and a panel rated 200 W gathers nothing like 200 W for most of the day. A station accepting 200 W of solar collects perhaps a kilowatt-hour across a good day in good weather. That is a ceiling on how fast it refills, not a promise that it will.

The third is the thing nobody checks until it matters: whether it will run a load while charging, and how fast it switches over when the mains fails. A station that does both is a crude uninterruptible supply for a router or a fridge. A fridge does not care about a few tens of milliseconds of gap; a desktop computer does. Stations built for this state a transfer time, stations that merely tolerate pass-through generally do not, and the distinction is documented inconsistently enough to be worth confirming with the manufacturer before relying on it.

Before you decide

Work out the watts before the watt-hours

The output rating is the gate and the capacity is only the duration behind it. Add up what you intend to run at the same time, compare that with 3,000 W, and only then ask how many hours you want. Buying more capacity to solve an output problem is the most expensive mistake available here, and it does not work.

Check the surge, not just the running figure

Anything with a motor or a compressor demands several times its running draw for the instant it starts. This listing does not state a surge rating, which means the question cannot be answered from it. A station comfortably above an appliance’s running watts can still refuse to start it.

Treat marketing language as a claim

Where a phrase on the listing matters to your decision, look for the number behind it: a stated capacity in watt-hours rather than a sentence about lasting for days. Where this site could not find that number, it says not stated.

If the output clears your load and the capacity covers the hours, the current price and availability are on Amazon — this site deliberately does not quote either, because both are stale within days of being read.

Check current price and availability

Compare it against the rest of its class

The finder below is filtered to home backup stations. Every result shows its runtime at full output and is measured against the median for its own class.

Your requirements

How much energy do you need stored?

Watt-hours decide how LONG it runs. Watts — the next question — decide WHETHER a given appliance runs at all. They are different numbers and the box prints them side by side without saying so.

What can you spend?

A ceiling, not a band — each option includes everything cheaper. Budget for panels separately if you need solar; they are rarely included.

What do you need to run?

This is the ceiling, not the runtime. A station rated below an appliance's draw will not start it at all, however large its battery.

How long should it last?

LiFePO4 cells take roughly 3,000 charge cycles before dropping to 80% capacity; older lithium-ion chemistries manage a few hundred. On a station charged weekly that is the difference between a decade and about three years.

Any brand in particular?

Only brands with at least eight power stations in this corpus are offered — a filter that returns three products is not a filter. Unlike every other question here, this one excludes power stations whose listing does not name a brand: a seller who did not say who made it has not made a GRECELL.

Must recharge from solar

Shows only stations that publish a solar input rating. Panels are almost always sold separately, and a station that accepts 200 W of panel will not recharge meaningfully in a day.

33 power stations match

BLUETTI Apex 300 Portable Power Station & B500K Expansion Battery 7884.8Wh

Home backupLiFePO4Over $1,500
At full output
122min
Continuous output
3840W
Surge
7680W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
not stated
Weight
84lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

7,800Wh

Home backup · 5,000 Wh and up · 12 power stations

Energy per kilogram

205Wh per kg

-50% vs the 408 median — heavier than most of its class for the energy

Capacity is -24% against the class median of 10,240.

ABOK Ark3600 Portable Power Station 3600W, 3840Wh LiFePO4 Battery

Home backupLiFePO4$800–1,500
At full output
64min
Continuous output
3600W
Surge
4500W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
not stated
Weight
92lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

3,840Wh

Home backup · 2,500 – 5,000 Wh · 19 power stations

Energy per kilogram

92Wh per kg

-7% vs the 98 median — typical for its class

Capacity is +25% against the class median of 3,072.

BLUETTI Elite 400 Portable Power Station 3840Wh LiFePO4 Battery 2600W

Home backupLiFePO4Solar input$800–1,500
At full output
89min
Continuous output
2600W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
1000W
Weight
86lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

3,840Wh

Home backup · 2,500 – 5,000 Wh · 19 power stations

Energy per kilogram

98Wh per kg

0% vs the 98 median — typical for its class

Capacity is +25% against the class median of 3,072.

EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station 3600Wh DELTA Pro, 120V 3600W AC Output

Home backupLiFePO4Solar inputOver $1,500
At full output
48min
Continuous output
4500W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
400W
Weight
99lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

3,600Wh

Home backup · 2,500 – 5,000 Wh · 19 power stations

Energy per kilogram

80Wh per kg

-18% vs the 98 median — heavier than most of its class for the energy

Capacity is +17% against the class median of 3,072.

Jackery HomePower 3000 Portable Power Station, 3072Wh, 3600W AC Output

Home backupLiFePO4$800–1,500
At full output
50min
Continuous output
3600W
Surge
7200W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
not stated
Weight
60lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

3,000Wh

Home backup · 2,500 – 5,000 Wh · 19 power stations

Energy per kilogram

111Wh per kg

+13% vs the 98 median — more energy for the weight than most of its class

Capacity is -2% against the class median of 3,072.

BLUETTI Elite 200 V2 Portable Power Station 2073.6Wh 2600W Solar Generator

Home backupLiFePO4Solar input$800–1,500
At full output
48min
Continuous output
2600W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
2600W
Weight
53lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

2,074Wh

Home backup · 1,200 – 2,500 Wh · 20 power stations

Energy per kilogram

86Wh per kg

0% vs the 86 median — typical for its class

Capacity is +3% against the class median of 2,016.

BLUETTI AC200L Portable Power Station 2048Wh 2400W LiFePO4 Battery

Home backupLiFePO4Solar input$400–800
At full output
34min
Continuous output
3600W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
1200W
Weight
62lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

2,048Wh

Home backup · 1,200 – 2,500 Wh · 20 power stations

Energy per kilogram

74Wh per kg

-14% vs the 86 median — heavier than most of its class for the energy

Capacity is +2% against the class median of 2,016.

Jackery Explorer 2000 Plus Portable Power Station, 2042Wh, 3000W AC Output

Home backupLiFePO4Solar input$800–1,500
At full output
40min
Continuous output
3000W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
200W
Weight
62lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

2,000Wh

Home backup · 1,200 – 2,500 Wh · 20 power stations

Energy per kilogram

71Wh per kg

-17% vs the 86 median — heavier than most of its class for the energy

Capacity is -1% against the class median of 2,016.

Jackery HomePower 3000 and 2x200W Solar Panels, 3072Wh, 3600W AC Output

Home backupLiFePO4Solar inputOver $1,500
At full output
not stated
Continuous output
3600W
Surge
7200W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
200W
Weight
60lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

Not stated

This listing does not publish a figure, so it cannot be placed against the baseline.

Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Portable Power Station with 2X 200W Solar Panels, 3600W AC Output, 3584Wh LFP Solar Generator, Expandable up to 21kWh, Essential Home Backup for Home Use, Emergencies, RV

Home backupLiFePO4Solar inputOver $1,500
At full output
350min
Continuous output
3600W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
200W
Weight
77lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

21,000Wh

Home backup · 5,000 Wh and up · 12 power stations

Energy per kilogram

600Wh per kg

+47% vs the 408 median — more energy for the weight than most of its class

Capacity is +105% against the class median of 10,240.

AFERIY 3840Wh Portable Power Station,Expandable Solar Generator to 11520Wh

Home backupLiFePO4$800–1,500
At full output
192min
Continuous output
3600W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
not stated
Weight
105lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

11,500Wh

Home backup · 5,000 Wh and up · 12 power stations

Energy per kilogram

242Wh per kg

-41% vs the 408 median — heavier than most of its class for the energy

Capacity is +12% against the class median of 10,240.

AFERIY P280 Portable Power Station 2800W (Peak 5600W) UPS Solar Generator

Home backupLiFePO4$400–800
At full output
219min
Continuous output
2800W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
not stated
Weight
44lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

10,240Wh

Home backup · 5,000 Wh and up · 12 power stations

Energy per kilogram

513Wh per kg

+26% vs the 408 median — more energy for the weight than most of its class

Capacity is 0% against the class median of 10,240.

Related

Computed from the corpus on 2026-08-29.