Abstract long repeating cycle illustration in amber and pale sand on white — decorative header for LiFePO4 Power Stations Compared on Specs

LiFePO4 power stations

Roughly ten times the cycle life of the lithium-ion chemistry it replaced, for more weight and more money.

Every figure here is taken from the manufacturer’s published listing and measured against the rest of the group. We do not test power stations. Where a listing is silent, this site prints not stated rather than a plausible default.

What this group looks like

Computed across the 109 matching listings.
Measure Middle half Median
Capacity 576 Wh – 3,000 Wh 1,190 Wh
Continuous output 360 W – 2,400 W 1,800 W
Runtime at full output (derived) 40 min – 1h 4m 51 min
Energy per kilogram (derived) — 88 Wh/kg

The middle-half column spans the 25th to 75th percentile, so it describes where most of this group sits rather than being pulled about by one unusual unit.

The runtime figure is arithmetic, and it is optimistic. It is the published capacity divided by the published output, which is the best you could ever get. Real inverters are 85 to 90% efficient, so the usable figure is lower — and no listing on this site states its inverter efficiency, so we do not estimate it. Treat the number as a ceiling and a way to compare like with like, not as a promise.

Against the market as a whole this group runs about as long at full output as average — a median of 51 min against 51 min overall.

What these listings publish

Specification coverage is uneven, and knowing where it runs out is part of shopping honestly.

How many of these 109 listings publish each specification.
Specification Stated Share
Continuous output 109 100%
Capacity in watt-hours 90 83%
Surge rating 56 51%
Cell chemistry 109 100%
Solar input 60 55%
Weight 85 78%

What they cost

Bands, not prices. Panels, where you need them, are almost always a separate purchase.

Price band distribution across the 109 matching listings.
Band Listings Share
Under $200 25 23%
$200–400 22 20%
$400–800 31 28%
$800–1,500 17 16%
Over $1,500 14 13%

What the cycle count actually means

A LiFePO4 cell takes around 3,000 charge cycles before falling to 80% of its original capacity; the lithium-ion chemistries it displaced manage a few hundred. On a station cycled weekly that is roughly a decade against roughly three years, which is usually the whole argument. On one used for four weekends a year it is a distinction without a difference, and the extra weight is a real cost.

The safety difference is real but often overstated

LiFePO4 is markedly more tolerant of heat and far less prone to thermal runaway than other lithium chemistries. That matters for a battery stored in a hot car or run hard indoors. It does not make any battery inert, and it is not a reason to skip the basics of ventilation and not charging unattended on soft furnishings.

You pay in kilograms

For the same watt-hours a LiFePO4 pack is meaningfully heavier. At the home-backup end nobody cares because the station is sited once. At the carry-it-to-a-campsite end it is the deciding factor, which is why lithium-ion persists there and why the energy-per-kilogram figure on each result is worth reading before the chemistry label.

Nobody publishes the cycle count

Cycle life is the headline durability claim for this chemistry and not one listing in this corpus states it in a form that can be read and compared. The figure quoted in marketing copy — a few thousand cycles to eighty per cent of original capacity — comes from the cell manufacturer rather than the station builder, and it assumes a charge and discharge regime no owner replicates. This site prints not stated rather than repeating a number it cannot verify, and the practical substitute is the warranty, which is the only durability claim anyone has to honour.

The density comparison in this corpus is not what it looks like

Measured across these listings the LiFePO4 units show a higher median energy per kilogram than the lithium-ion ones, which inverts what the cell chemistry would predict. The explanation is not chemistry but size: the LiFePO4 stations here are much larger on average, and a bigger station carries proportionally less case, inverter and cooling per watt-hour stored. Comparing chemistries fairly means comparing units of similar capacity, which is why the energy-per-kilogram figure on each result is placed against its own capacity band rather than against the site as a whole.

Cold is the condition that changes the answer

Every lithium chemistry loses usable capacity in the cold, and charging below freezing is the operation that does lasting damage. LiFePO4 is no exception, and many stations include a heater or simply refuse to charge until the pack warms. For a station kept in a vehicle or an unheated garage through winter this matters more than any figure on the listing, and it is rarely stated. The behaviour to look for is what the station does when asked to charge cold — refusing is the correct answer and a well-designed one.

The warranty is the durability claim that counts

Since no listing here states a cycle count that can be compared, the warranty is the only durability figure anyone has committed to. It is worth reading against the chemistry claim rather than instead of it: a manufacturer advertising thousands of cycles while offering a short warranty is making one claim in marketing and a different one in a contract. Where the two disagree, the contract is the one that will be honoured.

Where the older chemistry still wins

Lithium-ion has not disappeared from this market and it persists for a reason: for the same watt-hours it is lighter, and at the small end of the range weight is what decides whether a station gets carried anywhere. A unit taken to a campsite on foot, or kept in a bag for a day out, is a case where a few hundred fewer cycles matters less than a kilogram. The chemistry label is worth reading alongside the energy-per-kilogram figure and the number of times the station will realistically be cycled in its life.

Before you buy

Check watts before watt-hours

A station rated below your appliance’s draw will not start it for one second, whatever its battery holds. Establish the output ceiling you need first; the capacity question only matters once the appliance runs at all.

Find the surge rating

Anything with a motor or compressor draws several times its running wattage for a fraction of a second at startup. Where a listing does not state a surge rating, this site says so rather than assuming it is generous.

Treat marketing language as a claim

“Solar generator”, “whole-home backup” and “portable” are positioning, not specifications. Look for the number behind each: a solar input in watts, an output in watts, a weight in kilograms.

Compare them

The finder below is already filtered to this group. Every result carries its runtime at full output.

Your requirements

How much energy do you need stored?

Watt-hours decide how LONG it runs. Watts — the next question — decide WHETHER a given appliance runs at all. They are different numbers and the box prints them side by side without saying so.

What can you spend?

A ceiling, not a band — each option includes everything cheaper. Budget for panels separately if you need solar; they are rarely included.

What do you need to run?

This is the ceiling, not the runtime. A station rated below an appliance's draw will not start it at all, however large its battery.

How long should it last?

LiFePO4 cells take roughly 3,000 charge cycles before dropping to 80% capacity; older lithium-ion chemistries manage a few hundred. On a station charged weekly that is the difference between a decade and about three years.

Any brand in particular?

Only brands with at least eight power stations in this corpus are offered — a filter that returns three products is not a filter. Unlike every other question here, this one excludes power stations whose listing does not name a brand: a seller who did not say who made it has not made a GRECELL.

Must recharge from solar

Shows only stations that publish a solar input rating. Panels are almost always sold separately, and a station that accepts 200 W of panel will not recharge meaningfully in a day.

156 power stations match

UDPOWER S2400 Portable Power Station(Solar Panel Option), 2083Wh LiFePO4, 2400W (Surge 3000W) UPS, 6 AC Outlets, Solar Generator for RVs Camping Emergency, Home Backup (One Unit(AS2400))

High outputLiFePO4Solar input$400–800
At full output
52min
Continuous output
2400W
Surge
3000W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
440W
Weight
41lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

2,083Wh

High output · 1,200 – 2,500 Wh · 20 power stations

Energy per kilogram

112Wh per kg

+31% vs the 86 median — more energy for the weight than most of its class

Capacity is +3% against the class median of 2,016.

UDPOWER S1200 1190Wh Solar Generator Kit with 120W Panel, 1200W Power Station, for Home Backup RV Outdoor, Emergency Power Backup

ApplianceLiFePO4Solar input$400–800
At full output
60min
Continuous output
1200W
Surge
1800W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
120W
Weight
26lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

1,190Wh

Appliance · 500 – 1,200 Wh · 40 power stations

Energy per kilogram

102Wh per kg

+15% vs the 88 median — more energy for the weight than most of its class

Capacity is +19% against the class median of 1,000.

Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 and 200W Solar Panel,1070Wh,1500W AC

High outputLiFePO4Solar input$400–800
At full output
43min
Continuous output
1500W
Surge
3000W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
200W
Weight
24lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

1,070Wh

High output · 500 – 1,200 Wh · 40 power stations

Energy per kilogram

99Wh per kg

+12% vs the 88 median — more energy for the weight than most of its class

Capacity is +7% against the class median of 1,000.

BLAVOR Portable Power Station 1600W (Peak 3200W), Built-in Solar Panel, 1024Wh LiFePO4 Battery, 100W USB-C Fast Charge, Solar Generator for Home Backup, Camping, Power Outages & RV

High outputLiFePO4Solar input$400–800
At full output
38min
Continuous output
1600W
Surge
3200W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
40W
Weight
26lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

1,024Wh

High output · 500 – 1,200 Wh · 40 power stations

Energy per kilogram

87Wh per kg

-2% vs the 88 median — typical for its class

Capacity is +2% against the class median of 1,000.

VTOMAN FlashSpeed 1000 Portable Power Station, 828Wh LiFePO4,1000W output

ApplianceLiFePO4Solar input$200–400
At full output
50min
Continuous output
1000W
Surge
2000W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
400W
Weight
32lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

828Wh

Appliance · 500 – 1,200 Wh · 40 power stations

Energy per kilogram

58Wh per kg

-35% vs the 88 median — heavier than most of its class for the energy

Capacity is -17% against the class median of 1,000.

DaranEner Portable Power Station 600W (1200W Peak), 576Wh LiFePO4 battery with 100W Solar Panel, Fast Recharge AC/Car/Solar, 3 AC Outlets, USB-C PD for Camping, RV, CPAP, Emergency Backup

ApplianceLiFePO4Solar input$200–400
At full output
58min
Continuous output
600W
Surge
1200W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
100W
Weight
14lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

576Wh

Appliance · 500 – 1,200 Wh · 40 power stations

Energy per kilogram

93Wh per kg

+5% vs the 88 median — typical for its class

Capacity is -42% against the class median of 1,000.

Jackery Solar Generator 300 and 40W Solar Panel,292Wh,300W AC

EssentialsLiFePO4Solar input$200–400
At full output
58min
Continuous output
300W
Surge
600W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
40W
Weight
13lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

292Wh

Essentials · under 500 Wh · 42 power stations

Energy per kilogram

50Wh per kg

-33% vs the 74 median — heavier than most of its class for the energy

Capacity is +23% against the class median of 237.

ALLWEI Portable Power Station 300W, 256Wh Solar Generator LiFePO4 Battery

EssentialsLiFePO4Solar inputUnder $200
At full output
51min
Continuous output
300W
Surge
600W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
100W
Weight
6lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

256Wh

Essentials · under 500 Wh · 42 power stations

Energy per kilogram

88Wh per kg

+19% vs the 74 median — more energy for the weight than most of its class

Capacity is +8% against the class median of 237.

300W Portable Power Station 80000mAh LiFePO4 Battery

EssentialsLiFePO4Solar inputUnder $200
At full output
51min
Continuous output
300W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
100W
Weight
6lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

256Wh

Essentials · under 500 Wh · 42 power stations

Energy per kilogram

87Wh per kg

+17% vs the 74 median — more energy for the weight than most of its class

Capacity is +8% against the class median of 237.

DaranEner 300W Portable Power Station, 192Wh LiFePO4 Solar Generator

EssentialsLiFePO4Solar inputUnder $200
At full output
38min
Continuous output
300W
Surge
600W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
60W
Weight
6lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

192Wh

Essentials · under 500 Wh · 42 power stations

Energy per kilogram

74Wh per kg

0% vs the 74 median — typical for its class

Capacity is -19% against the class median of 237.

Portable Power Station 300W, 192Wh Large Power Bank with 110V AC Outlet, LiFePO4 Battery Backup, 8- Ports Solar Generator Fast Charaing for Camping, Hurricane Emergency, Outdoor, Home

EssentialsLiFePO4Solar inputUnder $200
At full output
38min
Continuous output
300W
Surge
600W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
60W
Weight
6lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

192Wh

Essentials · under 500 Wh · 42 power stations

Energy per kilogram

73Wh per kg

-2% vs the 74 median — typical for its class

Capacity is -19% against the class median of 237.

Daran 300W Portable Power Station (600W Surge) | 192Wh LiFePO4 Solar Generator for Camping, RV & Emergency | 8-in-1 Lightweight Battery Supply with 60W PD & LED Light for Laptop, Drone

EssentialsLiFePO4Solar inputUnder $200
At full output
38min
Continuous output
300W
Surge
600W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
60W
Weight
6lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

192Wh

Essentials · under 500 Wh · 42 power stations

Energy per kilogram

73Wh per kg

-2% vs the 74 median — typical for its class

Capacity is -19% against the class median of 237.

Related

Computed from the corpus on 2026-08-29.