Abstract wide horizon mass illustration in amber and pale sand on white — decorative header for Home Backup Power Stations Compared on Published Specs

Power stations above 2,500 W, compared on published specifications

Household circuits rather than appliances. Above 2,500 watts these compete with a standby generator, and the comparison is more about how you live than about the specifications.

We do not test power stations. The median home backup station here holds 3,600 Wh and runs 51 min at its own rated output — the figures worth carrying into any listing you read.

Every figure below is taken from the manufacturer’s published listing and measured against the rest of the class. A watt-hour capacity is published by 82% of the home backup power stations here; where a listing is silent, the page says not stated rather than filling the gap.

Where the data runs out. 2 capacity bands hold too few listings for a median: 1,200 – 2,500 Wh (5), 5,000 Wh and up (7). Below 8 a median describes the sample rather than the market.

What the numbers say about this class

Baselines for this output class. A specification needs at least 8 listings stating it before a median is published.
Specification Stated Median Middle half Full range
Capacity 27 3,600 Wh 3,000 Wh – 7,800 Wh 2,000 Wh – 21,000 Wh
Continuous output 33 3,600 W 3,300 W – 3,600 W 2,600 W – 7,200 W
Runtime at full output (derived) 27 51 min 48 min – 2h 2m 34 min – 5h 50m
Energy per kilogram (derived) 21 98 Wh/kg 83 Wh/kg – 212 Wh/kg 71 Wh/kg – 600 Wh/kg
Weight 27 77 lb 60 lb – 99 lb 41 lb – 145 lb
Solar input 18 400 W 200 W – 2,000 W 200 W – 6,400 W

The middle-half column is the more useful one. It spans the 25th to 75th percentile, so it describes where most of the class actually sits rather than being pulled about by one unusual unit.

Watts and watt-hours are not the same question

Watts decide whether an appliance runs. Watt-hours decide how long. The box prints both and rarely explains that the first is a hard ceiling: a station rated below an appliance’s draw will not start it for one second, however large its battery.

Median capacity, median output, and the runtime those two imply — by output class.
Output class Listings Median capacity Median output Runtime at full output
Essentials Power Stations 64 231 Wh 300 W 52 min
Appliance Power Stations 25 999 Wh 1,000 W 1h 0m
High-Output Power Stations 46 1,843 Wh 2,000 W 46 min
Home Backup Power Stations 33 3,600 Wh 3,600 W 51 min

Read across that table and the pattern is the point. Outside the largest capacities, the median station runs about the same time at full output whatever class it is in — because capacity and output rise together. A bigger station does not buy you a longer run at full tilt; it buys you the ability to run more, or bigger, for about the same hour.

The runtime figure is arithmetic, and it is optimistic. It is the published capacity divided by the published output, which is the best you could ever get. Real inverters are 85 to 90% efficient, so the usable figure is lower — and no listing on this site states its inverter efficiency, so we do not estimate it. Treat the number as a ceiling and a way to compare like with like, not as a promise.

How this class spreads across capacities

Where this class’s 33 listings sit by capacity.
Capacity band Listings Median capacity Runtime at full output
under 500 Wh 0 None in this class
500 – 1,200 Wh 0 None in this class
1,200 – 2,500 Wh 5 Too few for a median
2,500 – 5,000 Wh 15 3,600 Wh 51 min
5,000 Wh and up 7 Too few for a median
Not stated 6 The listing publishes no watt-hour figure

How to choose one

This is the class where capacity finally outruns output

Everywhere else on this site the median station runs about fifty minutes at full output. In the largest capacity band it runs over three hours, because these are batteries sized for endurance rather than for peak draw. That is the first point in the range where buying more capacity genuinely buys more time rather than more simultaneous appliances.

Expandable batteries change the arithmetic and the price

Many stations here accept add-on battery modules, which is how a 3 kWh unit becomes a 12 kWh one. The base unit is what is listed and compared on this site; the expansion packs are sold separately and frequently cost as much again per kilowatt-hour. A comparison that ignores that is comparing entry prices rather than systems.

Against a generator, the trade is fuel for silence

A generator runs as long as you keep feeding it and is loud, fumey and outdoor-only. A battery is silent, indoor-safe and finite. For an outage measured in hours a battery is straightforwardly better; for one measured in days without sun it is not, and the honest answer for many households is that the two are complements rather than alternatives.

What it does not replace

A station of this size covers a fridge, a router, some lights and phone charging through an outage of hours, and that is a genuinely useful thing to own. What it is not is a whole-house supply: it does not connect to the panel, it will not run electric heating, a well pump or an electric cooker for any useful time, and it does not transfer automatically when the power fails. Buyers expecting a generator replacement are disappointed by the runtime; buyers expecting a very large battery with sockets are usually satisfied by the same machine.

A station is only insurance if it is charged

The failure mode for a backup unit is not the battery — it is finding it at thirty per cent when the power goes off. Lithium packs self-discharge slowly, but months of sitting add up, and a station stored flat for a long period is worse off than one stored part-charged. The practical routine is to check it on a schedule rather than to leave it plugged in permanently, since sitting at full charge continuously is its own mild stress. Whatever the routine, it needs to exist, because the specification that matters during an outage is the state of charge and no listing can supply it.

What the listings do and do not tell you

Specification coverage is uneven, and that unevenness is worth knowing before you shop. A missing figure is not a worse product — it is a less completely described one.

How many listings in this class publish each specification.
Specification Stated Share
Continuous output 33 100%
Capacity in watt-hours 27 82%
Surge rating 12 36%
Cell chemistry 27 82%
Solar input 18 55%
Weight 27 82%

Where a listing is silent, this site prints not stated. It never fills the gap with a plausible default.

Mistakes this data makes visible

Buying watt-hours to solve a watts problem

The most common and the most expensive. If a station cannot start your appliance, a larger battery in the same output class will not change that. Check the continuous rating against the appliance’s draw first, and the surge rating against its startup.

Reading a surge rating as a running rating

Surge is a brief peak while a motor starts, not a level anything can be run at. A fridge that runs at 150 W may demand 900 W for a fraction of a second, and a station whose surge headroom is thin will trip rather than start it.

Assuming solar means independence

A station accepting 200 W of panel gathers at best around a kilowatt-hour across a good day, and panels are almost always sold separately. Solar input is a ceiling on how fast it refills, not a promise that it will.

Find one that fits

The power station finder filters on capacity, output, chemistry and solar input, and shows each result against the median for its own capacity band — with its runtime at full output on every card.

Narrower comparisons

Same data, scoped to the group people most often shop for:

Individual stations in this class

One page each, with the runtime its own figures imply and how it sits against the median above:

Related classes

Figures on this page were computed from the corpus on 2026-08-29. How we compile these figures.