Abstract broad mass beneath rays illustration in amber and pale sand on white — decorative header for Solar Home Backup Power Stations Compared

Home backup power stations with solar input

The only configuration on this site that can outlast a multi-day outage — and the one where the panel budget is easiest to underestimate.

Every figure here is taken from the manufacturer’s published listing and measured against the rest of the group. We do not test power stations. Where a listing is silent, this site prints not stated rather than a plausible default.

What this group looks like

Computed across the 18 matching listings.
Measure Middle half Median
Capacity 3,000 Wh – 3,840 Wh 3,600 Wh
Continuous output 3,000 W – 3,600 W 3,600 W
Runtime at full output (derived) 48 min – 1h 29m 51 min
Energy per kilogram (derived) — 83 Wh/kg

The middle-half column spans the 25th to 75th percentile, so it describes where most of this group sits rather than being pulled about by one unusual unit.

The runtime figure is arithmetic, and it is optimistic. It is the published capacity divided by the published output, which is the best you could ever get. Real inverters are 85 to 90% efficient, so the usable figure is lower — and no listing on this site states its inverter efficiency, so we do not estimate it. Treat the number as a ceiling and a way to compare like with like, not as a promise.

Against the market as a whole this group runs about as long at full output as average — a median of 51 min against 51 min overall.

What these listings publish

Specification coverage is uneven, and knowing where it runs out is part of shopping honestly.

How many of these 18 listings publish each specification.
Specification Stated Share
Continuous output 18 100%
Capacity in watt-hours 16 89%
Surge rating 4 22%
Cell chemistry 15 83%
Solar input 18 100%
Weight 13 72%

What they cost

Bands, not prices. Panels, where you need them, are almost always a separate purchase.

Price band distribution across the 18 matching listings.
Band Listings Share
$400–800 1 6%
$800–1,500 7 39%
Over $1,500 10 56%

Solar is what turns a finite battery into an indefinite one

A battery alone is a fixed number of kilowatt-hours; with enough panel it becomes a daily allowance. That is the difference between covering an outage of hours and one of days, and it is the reason this combination exists. It also means the honest unit of comparison is the whole system rather than the station, and only the station is listed.

The input rating is the ceiling, the roof is the reality

A 1,000 W solar input needs about a kilowatt of panel to be worth anything, angled and unshaded. That is a real installation, not a folding panel on the grass, and it is a cost no listing on this page includes.

Solar and backup are different use cases sharing a machine

A home-backup station is bought for outages, which are measured in hours and end on their own. Solar is for situations with no mains at all, measured in days. The combination makes sense for a household that expects long outages — days rather than an evening — and for one that also camps or works off-grid. For a typical power cut the station starts full and the panel never contributes, which is worth knowing before buying one.

Refilling a pack this size from a panel

At home-backup capacity the arithmetic is unforgiving: the median rated solar input in this corpus against a pack this large is measured in days of good sun, not hours. Multiple panels in parallel help and are constrained by the station’s maximum input current, which is a separate figure from the wattage and is stated less often. Anyone planning to run indefinitely from solar needs to compare the array against the daily load rather than against the battery.

What it does not replace

A station of this size covers a fridge, a router, lights and phones through an outage of hours, which is genuinely useful. It is not a whole-house supply: it does not connect to the panel, it will not run electric heating, a well pump or an electric cooker for any useful time, and it does not transfer automatically when the power fails. Adding solar changes how long it lasts and changes none of that.

Surge is the figure that decides whether a motor starts

Stations quote a continuous rating and a surge rating roughly double it, and the surge covers the instant a compressor or a pump starts. It is stated on only about half the listings in this corpus, which is why the finder keeps unstated values visible rather than assuming them. A station rated comfortably above a device’s running draw can still fail to start it, and the specification that would have predicted that is the one most often missing.

Measuring what you actually draw

The arithmetic is only as good as the wattage that goes into it, and most people take that from a label describing the maximum a device can draw rather than what it usually does. A plug-in energy meter costs very little and turns a guess into a measurement — a fridge rated at a few hundred watts averages a fraction of that across a day because the compressor is off most of the time. Measuring the real load is the single change that makes every other figure useful.

The total output is not the per-socket rating

A station quoting a large continuous figure is describing what the inverter delivers in total, not what any one outlet will carry. Individual sockets are frequently rated lower, and a single heavy load in the wrong one trips it while the station reports plenty of headroom. Where a station has several AC outlets it is worth knowing whether they share one rating or divide it, and that detail sits in the manual rather than the listing on almost every model here.

Before you buy

Check watts before watt-hours

A station rated below your appliance’s draw will not start it for one second, whatever its battery holds. Establish the output ceiling you need first; the capacity question only matters once the appliance runs at all.

Find the surge rating

Anything with a motor or compressor draws several times its running wattage for a fraction of a second at startup. Where a listing does not state a surge rating, this site says so rather than assuming it is generous.

Treat marketing language as a claim

“Solar generator”, “whole-home backup” and “portable” are positioning, not specifications. Look for the number behind each: a solar input in watts, an output in watts, a weight in kilograms.

Compare them

The finder below is already filtered to this group. Every result carries its runtime at full output.

Your requirements

How much energy do you need stored?

Watt-hours decide how LONG it runs. Watts — the next question — decide WHETHER a given appliance runs at all. They are different numbers and the box prints them side by side without saying so.

What can you spend?

A ceiling, not a band — each option includes everything cheaper. Budget for panels separately if you need solar; they are rarely included.

What do you need to run?

This is the ceiling, not the runtime. A station rated below an appliance's draw will not start it at all, however large its battery.

How long should it last?

LiFePO4 cells take roughly 3,000 charge cycles before dropping to 80% capacity; older lithium-ion chemistries manage a few hundred. On a station charged weekly that is the difference between a decade and about three years.

Any brand in particular?

Only brands with at least eight power stations in this corpus are offered — a filter that returns three products is not a filter. Unlike every other question here, this one excludes power stations whose listing does not name a brand: a seller who did not say who made it has not made a GRECELL.

Must recharge from solar

Shows only stations that publish a solar input rating. Panels are almost always sold separately, and a station that accepts 200 W of panel will not recharge meaningfully in a day.

35 power stations match

BLUETTI Apex 300 Portable Power Station & B500K Expansion Battery 7884.8Wh

Home backupLiFePO4Over $1,500
At full output
122min
Continuous output
3840W
Surge
7680W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
not stated
Weight
84lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

7,800Wh

Home backup · 5,000 Wh and up · 12 power stations

Energy per kilogram

205Wh per kg

-50% vs the 408 median — heavier than most of its class for the energy

Capacity is -24% against the class median of 10,240.

ABOK Ark3600 Portable Power Station 3600W, 3840Wh LiFePO4 Battery

Home backupLiFePO4$800–1,500
At full output
64min
Continuous output
3600W
Surge
4500W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
not stated
Weight
92lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

3,840Wh

Home backup · 2,500 – 5,000 Wh · 19 power stations

Energy per kilogram

92Wh per kg

-7% vs the 98 median — typical for its class

Capacity is +25% against the class median of 3,072.

BLUETTI Elite 400 Portable Power Station 3840Wh LiFePO4 Battery 2600W

Home backupLiFePO4Solar input$800–1,500
At full output
89min
Continuous output
2600W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
1000W
Weight
86lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

3,840Wh

Home backup · 2,500 – 5,000 Wh · 19 power stations

Energy per kilogram

98Wh per kg

0% vs the 98 median — typical for its class

Capacity is +25% against the class median of 3,072.

EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station 3600Wh DELTA Pro, 120V 3600W AC Output

Home backupLiFePO4Solar inputOver $1,500
At full output
48min
Continuous output
4500W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
400W
Weight
99lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

3,600Wh

Home backup · 2,500 – 5,000 Wh · 19 power stations

Energy per kilogram

80Wh per kg

-18% vs the 98 median — heavier than most of its class for the energy

Capacity is +17% against the class median of 3,072.

Jackery HomePower 3000 Portable Power Station, 3072Wh, 3600W AC Output

Home backupLiFePO4$800–1,500
At full output
50min
Continuous output
3600W
Surge
7200W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
not stated
Weight
60lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

3,000Wh

Home backup · 2,500 – 5,000 Wh · 19 power stations

Energy per kilogram

111Wh per kg

+13% vs the 98 median — more energy for the weight than most of its class

Capacity is -2% against the class median of 3,072.

BLUETTI Elite 200 V2 Portable Power Station 2073.6Wh 2600W Solar Generator

Home backupLiFePO4Solar input$800–1,500
At full output
48min
Continuous output
2600W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
2600W
Weight
53lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

2,074Wh

Home backup · 1,200 – 2,500 Wh · 20 power stations

Energy per kilogram

86Wh per kg

0% vs the 86 median — typical for its class

Capacity is +3% against the class median of 2,016.

BLUETTI AC200L Portable Power Station 2048Wh 2400W LiFePO4 Battery

Home backupLiFePO4Solar input$400–800
At full output
34min
Continuous output
3600W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
1200W
Weight
62lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

2,048Wh

Home backup · 1,200 – 2,500 Wh · 20 power stations

Energy per kilogram

74Wh per kg

-14% vs the 86 median — heavier than most of its class for the energy

Capacity is +2% against the class median of 2,016.

Jackery Explorer 2000 Plus Portable Power Station, 2042Wh, 3000W AC Output

Home backupLiFePO4Solar input$800–1,500
At full output
40min
Continuous output
3000W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
200W
Weight
62lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

2,000Wh

Home backup · 1,200 – 2,500 Wh · 20 power stations

Energy per kilogram

71Wh per kg

-17% vs the 86 median — heavier than most of its class for the energy

Capacity is -1% against the class median of 2,016.

Jackery HomePower 3000 and 2x200W Solar Panels, 3072Wh, 3600W AC Output

Home backupLiFePO4Solar inputOver $1,500
At full output
not stated
Continuous output
3600W
Surge
7200W
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
200W
Weight
60lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

Not stated

This listing does not publish a figure, so it cannot be placed against the baseline.

Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Portable Power Station with 2X 200W Solar Panels, 3600W AC Output, 3584Wh LFP Solar Generator, Expandable up to 21kWh, Essential Home Backup for Home Use, Emergencies, RV

Home backupLiFePO4Solar inputOver $1,500
At full output
350min
Continuous output
3600W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
200W
Weight
77lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

21,000Wh

Home backup · 5,000 Wh and up · 12 power stations

Energy per kilogram

600Wh per kg

+47% vs the 408 median — more energy for the weight than most of its class

Capacity is +105% against the class median of 10,240.

AFERIY 3840Wh Portable Power Station,Expandable Solar Generator to 11520Wh

Home backupLiFePO4$800–1,500
At full output
192min
Continuous output
3600W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
not stated
Weight
105lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

11,500Wh

Home backup · 5,000 Wh and up · 12 power stations

Energy per kilogram

242Wh per kg

-41% vs the 408 median — heavier than most of its class for the energy

Capacity is +12% against the class median of 10,240.

AFERIY P280 Portable Power Station 2800W (Peak 5600W) UPS Solar Generator

Home backupLiFePO4$400–800
At full output
219min
Continuous output
2800W
Surge
not stated
Cells
LiFePO4
Solar input
not stated
Weight
44lb
Check price on Amazon

Capacity

10,240Wh

Home backup · 5,000 Wh and up · 12 power stations

Energy per kilogram

513Wh per kg

+26% vs the 408 median — more energy for the weight than most of its class

Capacity is 0% against the class median of 10,240.

Related

Computed from the corpus on 2026-08-29.