Power stations under 600 W, compared on published specifications
Phones, laptops, lights, a router, a CPAP. Under 600 watts a station is a large battery with sockets on it, and that is often exactly the right thing to own.
We do not test power stations. The median essentials station here holds 231 Wh and runs 52 min at its own rated output — the figures worth carrying into any listing you read.
Every figure below is taken from the manufacturer’s published listing and measured against the rest of the class. A watt-hour capacity is published by 64% of the essentials power stations here; where a listing is silent, the page says not stated rather than filling the gap.
Where the data runs out. One capacity band holds too few listings for a median: 500 – 1,200 Wh (4). Below 8 a median describes the sample rather than the market.
What the numbers say about this class
| Specification | Stated | Median | Middle half | Full range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capacity | 41 | 231 Wh | 192 Wh – 288 Wh | 128 Wh – 519 Wh |
| Continuous output | 64 | 300 W | 150 W – 300 W | 80 W – 500 W |
| Runtime at full output (derived) | 41 | 52 min | 45 min – 59 min | 38 min – 1h 59m |
| Energy per kilogram (derived) | 24 | 81 Wh/kg | 73 Wh/kg – 90 Wh/kg | 50 Wh/kg – 121 Wh/kg |
| Weight | 43 | 6 lb | 4 lb – 7 lb | 2 lb – 15 lb |
| Solar input | 32 | 60 W | 60 W – 120 W | 21 W – 300 W |
The middle-half column is the more useful one. It spans the 25th to 75th percentile, so it describes where most of the class actually sits rather than being pulled about by one unusual unit.
Watts and watt-hours are not the same question
Watts decide whether an appliance runs. Watt-hours decide how long. The box prints both and rarely explains that the first is a hard ceiling: a station rated below an appliance’s draw will not start it for one second, however large its battery.
| Output class | Listings | Median capacity | Median output | Runtime at full output |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essentials Power Stations | 64 | 231 Wh | 300 W | 52 min |
| Appliance Power Stations | 25 | 999 Wh | 1,000 W | 1h 0m |
| High-Output Power Stations | 46 | 1,843 Wh | 2,000 W | 46 min |
| Home Backup Power Stations | 33 | 3,600 Wh | 3,600 W | 51 min |
Read across that table and the pattern is the point. Outside the largest capacities, the median station runs about the same time at full output whatever class it is in — because capacity and output rise together. A bigger station does not buy you a longer run at full tilt; it buys you the ability to run more, or bigger, for about the same hour.
The runtime figure is arithmetic, and it is optimistic. It is the published capacity divided by the published output, which is the best you could ever get. Real inverters are 85 to 90% efficient, so the usable figure is lower — and no listing on this site states its inverter efficiency, so we do not estimate it. Treat the number as a ceiling and a way to compare like with like, not as a promise.
How this class spreads across capacities
| Capacity band | Listings | Median capacity | Runtime at full output |
|---|---|---|---|
| under 500 Wh | 37 | 228 Wh | 51 min |
| 500 – 1,200 Wh | 4 | Too few for a median | |
| 1,200 – 2,500 Wh | 0 | None in this class | |
| 2,500 – 5,000 Wh | 0 | None in this class | |
| 5,000 Wh and up | 0 | None in this class | |
| Not stated | 23 | The listing publishes no watt-hour figure | |
How to choose one
What 600 watts will and will not start
It will run everything that charges rather than heats: laptops, phones, a router, LED lighting, a CPAP, a fan. It will not run anything with a heating element or a compressor — no kettle, no microwave, no toaster, and usually no fridge. That is not a limitation of the battery, it is the inverter ceiling, and no amount of extra capacity moves it. If a fridge is on your list, this category cannot help you whatever its watt-hours say.
This is the class where weight actually decides
At this size the station is genuinely carried — to a campsite, into a car, up stairs during an outage. The energy-per-kilogram figure on each result is worth more attention here than anywhere else on the site, because the spread within the class is wide and the difference is one you feel every time you move it.
Lithium-ion still has a place here
The heavier LiFePO4 chemistry that dominates larger stations is a harder sell when the whole point is portability. Lithium-ion gives up cycle life and gains a meaningful amount of weight back, which is a reasonable trade for a station used a few weekends a year rather than cycled weekly.
What the surge figure is actually for
Almost every station here quotes two wattages: a continuous rating and a surge rating roughly double it. The surge figure covers the instant a motor starts, and at this size it decides whether the station can run anything with a compressor or a pump at all. It is stated on only about half the listings in this corpus, which is why the finder keeps unstated values visible rather than assuming them. A station with a continuous rating comfortably above the running draw of a device can still fail to start it, and the specification that would have predicted that is the one most often missing.
The ports decide what you can actually plug in
Capacity and watts describe the battery; the sockets decide whether your things connect. At this size the useful questions are how many AC outlets there are, what the USB-C port will deliver — enough to charge a laptop at full rate, or only a phone — and whether there is a 12 V output for anything automotive. A station with ample watt-hours and a single AC socket is awkward in exactly the situation it was bought for, and port counts are stated far more reliably than surge ratings are.
What the listings do and do not tell you
Specification coverage is uneven, and that unevenness is worth knowing before you shop. A missing figure is not a worse product — it is a less completely described one.
| Specification | Stated | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Continuous output | 64 | 100% |
| Capacity in watt-hours | 41 | 64% |
| Surge rating | 39 | 61% |
| Cell chemistry | 41 | 64% |
| Solar input | 32 | 50% |
| Weight | 43 | 67% |
Where a listing is silent, this site prints not stated. It never fills the gap with a plausible default.
Mistakes this data makes visible
Buying watt-hours to solve a watts problem
The most common and the most expensive. If a station cannot start your appliance, a larger battery in the same output class will not change that. Check the continuous rating against the appliance’s draw first, and the surge rating against its startup.
Reading a surge rating as a running rating
Surge is a brief peak while a motor starts, not a level anything can be run at. A fridge that runs at 150 W may demand 900 W for a fraction of a second, and a station whose surge headroom is thin will trip rather than start it.
Assuming solar means independence
A station accepting 200 W of panel gathers at best around a kilowatt-hour across a good day, and panels are almost always sold separately. Solar input is a ceiling on how fast it refills, not a promise that it will.
Find one that fits
The power station finder filters on capacity, output, chemistry and solar input, and shows each result against the median for its own capacity band — with its runtime at full output on every card.
Narrower comparisons
Same data, scoped to the group people most often shop for:
Individual stations in this class
One page each, with the runtime its own figures imply and how it sits against the median above:
Related classes
- Appliance Power Stations — The band where a fridge becomes possible.
- High-Output Power Stations — Enough to run a microwave, a circular saw, or a coffee machine — the point at which a station handles the things that briefly draw a great deal.
- Home Backup Power Stations — Household circuits rather than appliances.
